Grading System – Statutory Grain Classes of Canadian Wheat

What are the statutory grain classes of Canadian Wheat?

Canadian wheat varieties fall into 17 unique classes. The varieties within each class are grouped by their functional characteristics. For example, varieties in the Canada Prairie Spring Red class have medium hard kernels and medium dough strength.

Canadian wheat classes are categorized by the regions in which the varieties are grown, either Canada Western or Canada Eastern.  Only Canadian grown grain is eligible to be included in a statutory grain class.

A description of Canadian wheat classes can be found on the Canadian Grain Commission website here.

Contact Us

Have a question you'd like answered or comment about the site? Click here to contact us.

Offline FAQ

To download a PDF file of the full FAQs, please click here. (Adobe Acrobat required)